FG deeply concerned over rising Covid-19 cases, urges strict social distancing measures

The spread of novel Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) in Nigeria continues to record significant increases as the latest statistics provided by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control reveal Nigeria now has 76,207 confirmed cases.

On the 17th of December 2020, 1,145 new confirmed cases and 1 death was recorded in Nigeria, having carried out a total daily test of 4,747 samples across the country.

To date, 76,207 cases have been confirmed, 67,110 cases have been discharged and 1,201 deaths have been recorded in 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory. A total of 864,104 tests have been carried out as of December 17th, 2020 compared to 859,357 tests a day earlier.

COVID-19 Case Updates- 17th December 2020,
Total Number of Cases – 76,207
Total Number Discharged – 67,110
Total Deaths – 1,201
Total Tests Carried out – 864,104

According to the NCDC, the 1,145 new cases were reported from 24 states- Lagos (459), FCT (145), Kaduna (138), Plateau (80), Katsina (70), Gombe (52), Niger (31), Kano (23), Bayelsa (21), Bauchi (18), Ondo (18), Rivers (17), Ogun (12), Oyo (12), Edo (8), Nasarawa (8), Ebonyi (7), Osun (6), Ekiti (5), Kebbi (5), Borno (4), Jigawa (3), Akwa Ibom (2), and Anambra (1).

Meanwhile, the latest numbers bring Lagos state total confirmed cases to 25,895, followed by Abuja (9,053), Kaduna (4,236), Plateau (4,179),  Oyo (3,785), Rivers (3,234), Edo (2,755), Ogun (2,360), Kano (1,988), Delta (1,829), Ondo (1,769), Enugu (1,363), Katsina (1,359), Kwara (1,275),  Gombe (1,156), Ebonyi (1,082), Abia (973), Osun (971), Bauchi (878), and Borno (772).

Imo State has recorded 730 cases, Nasarawa (589), Benue (515), Bayelsa (492),  Ekiti (401), Jigawa (385), Akwa Ibom (366), Niger (338), Adamawa (329), Anambra (295), Sokoto (210), Taraba (203), Kebbi (143), Yobe (123), Cross River (92), Zamfara (79), while Kogi state has recorded 5 cases only.

READ ALSO: COVID-19: Western diplomats warn of disease explosion, poor handling by government

Lock Down and Curfew

In a move to combat the spread of the pandemic disease, President Muhammadu Buhari directed the cessation of all movements in Lagos and the FCT for an initial period of 14 days, which took effect from 11 pm on Monday, 30th March 2020.

The movement restriction, which was extended by another two weeks period, has been partially put on hold with some businesses commencing operations from May 4. On April 27th, 2020, Nigeria’s President, Muhammadu Buhari declared an overnight curfew from 8 pm to 6 am across the country, as part of new measures to contain the spread of the COVID-19. This comes along with the phased and gradual easing of lockdown measures in FCT, Lagos, and Ogun States, which took effect from Saturday, 2nd May 2020, at 9 am.

On Monday, 29th June 2020 the federal government extended the second phase of the eased lockdown by 4 weeks and approved interstate movement outside curfew hours with effect from July 1, 2020. Also, on Monday 27th July 2020, the federal government extended the second phase of eased lockdown by an additional one week.

On Thursday, 6th August 2020 the federal government through the secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) and Chairman of the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 announced the extension of the second phase of eased lockdown by another four (4) weeks.

Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos State announced the closed down of the Eti-Osa Isolation Centre, with effect from Friday, 31st July 2020. He also mentioned that the Agidingbi Isolation Centre would also be closed and the patients relocated to a large capacity centre.

Due to the increased number of covid-19 cases in Nigeria, the Nigerian government ordered the reopening of Isolation and treatment centres in the country on Thursday, 10th December 2020.

READ ALSO: Bill Gates says Trump’s WHO funding suspension is dangerous




Source: Nairametrics

Post views in 5 minutes: 1 view

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.